Exploring the History of Sellersburg, Indiana

Sellersburg, Indiana is a city with a rich history. It was founded in 1846 by Moses Sellers, and the first post office was established in 1854. The town was originally spelled Sellersburgh, but the spelling was changed to Sellersburg in the early 1980s. The city is home to the Clark Regional Airport, which was built in the early 1980s to handle small private aircraft. In 1994, Fuzzy Zoeller, a local PGA golfer, opened the Covered Bridge Golf Club.

He used it to organize celebrity golf tournaments and to raise funds for local charities. The 1930 census shows that Phillip Oliver Miller owned a butcher shop in Sellersburg and his sons Raymond and James Kenneth worked as butchers. The universities closest to Sellersburg include Ivy Tech Community College - South Central, Bellarmine University and Hanover College. In 1907, a black and white photograph of the railroad depot building in Sellersburg, Indiana was taken.

It shows the driver and passenger train at the time. There is also a photograph of a fireplace owned by the Louisville Cement Company in Speed, Indiana. In an interesting story from the early 1900s, two men named Popp and Kramer had a bet on who could get to Sellersburg first. The loser had to push the winner in a mail cart from the Ernest Davis Pharmacy in Speed to Sellersburg.

Today, Sellersburg is a thriving city with plenty of history to explore. From its founding by Moses Sellers to its modern-day attractions like the Covered Bridge Golf Club, there is something for everyone in this charming Indiana town.

Joan Riise
Joan Riise

Subtly charming twitter nerd. General zombie evangelist. Freelance web guru. Award-winning beer buff. Freelance twitter geek.

Leave a Comment

All fileds with * are required